Newbie making belvino Australian red

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tori webb

Junior
Reaction score
Newbie here!
So a week ago I got a wine making starter kit from ebay. Ive made the wine per the instructions (with fruit)

Now.. I'm degassing? I'm stuck. Have no clue. Help?

Ive got a long plastic spoon on the end if drill at the monent!ive been stirring but the intructions are vague!

Ive got a long plastic spoon on the end if drill at the monent!ive been stirring but the intructions are vague!

There are a number of ways to degas wine, some quicker, some longer, some more effective, some less effective.

In time, your wine will degas naturally, just as a can of soda looses its fizz once opened and left to sit, though it may take months for a wine. This is my preferred method, as my wines sit around for a year or more in barrels before bottling.

Agitation is also a method, stirring vigorously with a spoon, a drill mounted agitation device, and splash racking. These methods are faster than just letting it sit, but is typically not instantaneous, and may take several sessions over a period of time depending upon the agitation method and the wine itself. Caution should be used here, as excessive agitation can cause the sulfites in your wine to be used up, depleting your protection against microbial invaders and oxidation.