newbee

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corn field

Reaction score
smiley17.gif
I am new to this forum. I live in south central Iowa. I have been making wine for 2 years now. I mostely make country wines. At the present time i have 10 different wines going and in various stages of processing.
smiley17.gif

Welcome to the forum cornfield. What are the 10 you currently have going?

Welcome corn field. Glad to have you on board. Sounds like you have plenty to share with others. And as Waldo always say, "We like pictures here!"

Welcome cornfield, glad to have you on board and ditto on what Waldo asked.
23_3_36.gif

These are the wines ongoing
chocolate strawberry
smiley20.gif

chocolate manderin
gooseberry
jalapino (hot)
smiley29.gif

jalapino (mild)
mint
concord medium body
concord heavy body
smiley4.gif

tomato
iowa sweetcorn
smiley20.gif

Tell me about the sweet corn wine. I've often thought of trying one. I can get tons of sweetcorn free. Should it be picked young when higher in sugar or is it OK fairly mature when there are more starches. How hard is it to clear?

it needs to the ripenes you would use for takle fair. I cut it from the cob then cut the cobs into 3 pieces boiled all of this for 15 to 20 minutes then strained liquid through strainer bag and placed this in prymary.
it cleared rather quickly because of the pectick enzyme.
the tast; even though still young, has a suttle corn taste with al hint of fruit and yet some what of a herb essence. realy hard to explain. Iam sure it will get better with age.

Welcome, corn field.

Two years....you must have some interesting experience to share with us....Tell us about the Chocolate....

What about your woodburning? Pictures.....and details....Ramona