New member with 6 gallons of fresh Cardonel juice, need advice.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

strut

Reaction score
Hi all,

Like I said, I just received about 6 gallons of freshly squeezed Chardonel juice ready to go into a fermenter. This is my first try at wine making but I do have a bit of experience with a hydrometer and fermenting stuff :i

I prefer a full bodied dry red wine, but understand this grape can
make a good dry white wine. It helps the juice only cost me a lunch tab with a friend. :D

I have a generic recipe for Vinifera & hybrid grapes suggested to me by my local supply house:

SG 1.100
Acid 0.5% to 0.8%

One Gallon:
1 Camden Tab
1/2 tsp. Pectic
Yeast Lalvin D47 or EC 1118

The yeast I picked up is Red Star Premier Cuv'ee, any problems here?
So, is it safe to just multiply the Camden and Pectic for a 5 gallon batch?
I'm not entirely clear on what the Fruit Acid % means. I understand pH and have a digital meter. Can you convert this fruit acid % to a specific pH?

I have read that Chardonnay's are often oaked . I don't guess the charred oak chips I have around are going to work, huh?

Any help & suggestions you can give me will be appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
Are you going for a crisp dry white or a rounded fuller buttery white? If you can get powdered French oak from a local brew shop, then adding some to the FERMENT will get you the fuller. You could also use a mix of light toast and untoasted chips, but anything larger like cubes or sticks will not work as well. Keep the ferment towards 65* or lower. Hopefully someone will add info on the pH. Good luck!!

Welcome to the forum!

Sent from my iPhone using Wine Making