New in Nebraska

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Travisty

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I have been lurking around this forum for a couple weeks now. I am pretty much brand spanking new to winemaking. Some guys and I from my church decided it would be fun to start making beer together and it got me thinking of what it would be like to make wine. So I looked into it and it looks like a blast. My family and I started a new Christmas tradition this year by starting a batch of MM's Renaissance Chilean Malbec. We are about halfway through the secondary fermantation. I just checked the SG today and we're at 0.998. Should be ready to rack off the lees soon! I've decided, after reading this site a bit, that we are going bulk age this about 6-9 months before bottling it instead of bottling as soon as the instructions say. I work as a QC chemist at a large pharmaceutical manufacturing plant and I can't tell you how much this craft appeals to the chemist in me! I find myself wishing I had all the beakers, graduated cylinders, burets, pipets,balances, and whatever else that I available to me at work available at home too! I'm half thinking about adjusting acid and pHs at work now. :)

Speaking of work, it looks like Imight be able toget just about as many 4L glass jugs as I wantfrom work for free since we just toss them anyways. I was thinking about using them for any 1 gallon batches of wine I might want to try. But, all these jugs are dark brown in color. Would that be a real bad thing? It'd be near impossible to see what was going on inside of them most of the time. What do you guys think?

Anyways, I thought I'd finally register and say hi.