new and need help!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LieutenantFF

Junior
Reaction score
first off, i am new to this fourm AND wine making. i have made a few bottles of corn whiskey in my day BUT wine making seems more...well. you know. Anyways, i started making pineapple wine a few days ago with crushed pineapple. followed recipe with fruit, water, sugar, acid blend, tannin, campden tabs. wait 12 hours add pectin enzyme and then wait 12 more to add yeast. NOW the problem/question i have is will i be able to see fermentation taking place or is it more sutble in wine? there is a thin line of bubbles around the top but nothing that i am used to. are they all different?

i havent yet put my airlock on. i was waiting until day 5-6. please help!

Most wine yeast are low foaming, and depending on the temperature can be quite sneaky (in visual aspects anyway) about their activities.

The best thing is take & record hydrometer readings. Then you can tell if something is actually happening. to quote myself, "Visual signs of fermentation are highly overrated"

Steve

You should be able to smell, see, or even hear fementation taking place, FF. It bepends on the yeast being used. Some yeast work slowly, while others foam like crazy. The temp can make a big difference, too. What your temp?

Just keep an eye on your SG reading. If you check it daily (record everything you do!), you can see the SG dropping as time goes by during fermentation. Follow it to dry, and your good to go!

temp for the 2 days has been between 72-75. i have it in my laundry room that stays dark as well. but temp says the same.