Mosti Mondiale Nero d'Avola

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Just an update, im still bulk aging. i degassed a little today and took a taste. It looks, smells, and tastes great. Nice buzz.

My last post was in July 08 so, I been bulk aging for 2 months now.

What's a good bulking age for this Nero, 1 year?

smiley2.gif
Edited by: Dominick

Dominick,
There was a newsletter discussion earlier this year on bulk and bottle aging.
http://www.finevinewines.com/March_2008.htm#LETTER.BLOCK8

I don't think the timesare long enough myself, but I am a newbie at wine making. (Although I'm long on experience with cheap wine tasting and enjoyment
smiley2.gif
!)
I noticed you topped up with an Arancio. Do you think that is representative of this varietal? I just started this kit 10/15 and tasted the very same Arancio last week with the thought that I might use it to top up as well.

Hey Jack:

Yes I was just thinking what can I do to make sure the wine comes out at its best. I spoke with other forum members and some say bottle or bulk it dont matter, but then some swear by bulk aging. Even the old italian guys here in my neighborhood yell at me and say WHAT IS YEAST? - there old school wine makers and do everything old world. I wanted to impress them with my Nero, to show them that new world wine making can taste if not better then old world wine making. - They don't use any additives like K-meta, sorbates, ect ect...nothing just age.

If your making Nero now and want to top off like I did, I find the Arancio is perfect as it does not change the flavor of the MM wine, the MM still tastes great and I think you would need to add alot more then 2 bottle to affect the flavors of the MM. I find it was a perfect addition to the MM.