Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 52762

Junior
Reaction score
Hello, my name is Brian and I live in Minneapolis. I am new to winemaking but did some homebrewing many moons ago so at least somewhat familiar with the process.

I have 2 pear trees in my yard that annually produce 100+ pounds of pears. This year I want to ty my hand at pear wine. Currently I am processing and freezing fruit from one of the trees. The second tree (different variety with more and higher quality fruit) will ripen in mid to late August. I am hoping to begin the winemaking process in late August (~3 weeks from now as I write this).

My current dilemma is whether to try to juice the pears or to follow a recipe that adds water to chopped fruit. I don't have crushing and juice extraction equipment (and would like not to invest in them for this first go round) but I do have some equipment I could use. I've been scouring the forums for advise on this front but any advise or direction is most certainly welcome.

Excited about the journey. Cheers.

Welcome to WMT!

That's great about the pears. Last year I had 165 lbs, this year zero. Also zero mulberries. Disappointing. Use them when you have them!

I also don't juice. Light chop, freeze, they turn to mush. The key is to use VERY ripe pears.

Being a new wine maker, pear and water might be the way to go and it's easy. As long as you use 6+ lbs of pears you won't be disappointed, it's a very nice wine.

All pear no water, bit more work, you'll really like it. Fortunately with a freezer you don't have to decide right away.

And for future reference, I find that a little ginger goes well with pear as does cinnamon.

Good luck and have fun!

Thanks for the tips. I think I am going to go the easy route and not juice.