Need some opinions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arne

Reaction score
Gettin ready to start a batch of S.P. with a elderberry slurry. My wife is making pies for the fire dept. soup supper tomorrow. She drained a couple of cups of pie cherry juice off, says do you want this for your wine? I said sure. Now the question has anybody ever mixed sour cherry with elderberry and lemon? If so was the taste good, bad, great horrible, indifferent or whatever. This will only be about 2 cups in a 5 gal batch so should just add a little flavor. I have made lotsa cherry wine, but this is my first try at elderberry. Have not tried it yet, but it smells pretty good. Would like to know if the cherry and elderberry fight, don't want to waste a good batch of P. Course the good ole boys I run around with will drink it and say it is great anyway. Arne.

Go for it. You won't know until you try. With eldeberry and depending upon what kind of cherry it may be very tart. You may opt to using only 2 bottles of lemon juice.

Ya, was plannin on backin off on the lemon some. Just hopin the elderberry and pie cherry juice dont fight. Arne.

Are they tart or sweet cherries? Cherries lack acid but I'm sure the elderberry will make up for that.

You will be fine, Arne. Elderberries and cherries go together quite well.