My cabernet is exploding!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheNautiGals

Junior
Reaction score
I got the Lodi Ranch 11 Cab kit as a gift for Valentine's Day. I'm pretty new to winemaking. I started last Summer and have made only 6 kits to date. I pitched the yeast in the primary on Sunday afternoon. I've been locking down my primary, but I thought for the cab I'd just lay the lid on top of the bucket with no airlock. I also put a cloth overtop of the airlock hole. This morning I woke up to a cab explosion. It fermented over and down the sides of the bucket and splashed pretty much everything within arm's reach. I cleaned up the mess (lost some yeast and some oak I fear), gave the wine a good stir, put back the lid (tightly this time) and put on an airlock. Within an hour, the airlock is now filled with wine and it's fermenting, well, rather vigorously. I think I may need to siphon out a gallon or so of the wine and ferment it separately. Any other ideas to keep this from happening again? Is this typical of a big cab?

Thanks,
Ann