MLF Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cjk

Chris
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to juice buckets. All of my brief experience up to this point has been with 10 wine kits. Over the weekend I picked up two juice buckets (Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot) with the intentions doing MLF in both.

My questions are:
When should I start MLF?
How do you know when it's complete? Do you have to test?

Sorry if these questions are basic. I'd rather ask then screw up the wine.

Thank you for any input. It's always appreciated.

Chris

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to juice buckets. All of my brief experience up to this point has been with 10 wine kits. Over the weekend I picked up two juice buckets (Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot) with the intentions doing MLF in both.

My questions are:
When should I start MLF?
How do you know when it's complete? Do you have to test?

Sorry if these questions are basic. I'd rather ask then screw up the wine.

Thank you for any input. It's always appreciated.

Chris

Im only on my second mlf but my first completed very quickly when i co-innoculatted it 24 hours after i pitched my yeast. I just pitched my second batch today post innoculated after my fermentation was complete, i waited until fermentation was complete (.994) and then waited 24 hours, racked off the lees, then pitched mlf bacteria. Heres a graph showing favorable conditions for mlf, i use a chromatography test to see if it was complete.

B9BA3BF0-FFC6-4EE4-8ABA-7B809FE18D98.png

Thank you Smok1. I appreciate the information and the graph. Very helpful. I ordered a chromatography test kit.

Thanks Again!

Chris