Mini Oak Barrels for Fruit Wines?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Just-a-Guy

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I bought some of these mini oak barrels from Red Head Barrels (great company, great service, very cool little (and big) barrels). I've been using them for commercial whiskeys and ports and so forth, to add flavor and as a fun addition to my bar. I'm new to wine making, but have been making some fruit wines to get going - Welch's, apple wine, pear wines, DB, etc. Question for you guys -- do you think any of these fruit wines would benefit from some time in a little charred oak barrel? These are 1 liter barrels, fwiw.

Thanks,

JAG

IMG_0967[1].jpg

I don't make a lot of fruit wines, but blueberry is one of the very few I would put on oak.

It never hurts to experiment but I don't think fruit wines can benefit much from oak. Most fruits can stand up to oak and will loose most of their fruity characteristics IMHO. Having said that if you are trying to mimic say a chardonnay with an apple or pear wine then some oak might be helpful but I would start with oak chips or cubes and run some trials first before risking a few gallons of otherwise good fruit wine. Used barrels might be better as well to gain some subtle oak flavors.

Thanks for the replies. I kind of figured it wouldn't work so well, but thought I'd solicit opinions. I may try some of the pear in one of them.

outbackmac - The reason I would use something so small is because that's what I have. I buy these for whiskey and cognac and so forth - pour a liter in the barrel and let it sit for a while, adds some flavor. I have a couple with nothing in them right now (other than water, you can't leave them empty after curing them). I may buy some larger ones, he sells sizes from 1 to 20 liter.