WineXpert LE Nebbiolo Starting SG

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Victord

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all. I am fairly new to wine making and have found this forum incredibly informative. I just received and started my 6th kit - the Winexpert LE 2012 Nebbiolo. After topping up to 6 gallons as described in the instructions, I took the SG reading and it was 1.064. The kit instructions say to look for a starting SG of 1.090 to 1.100. This is the first kit I've done where the SG was off that much from the range in the instructions. Does anyone know if it would be best just to add sugar to bring it into the recommended range or simply leave it where it is and pitch the yeast? Any help or recommendations would be much appreciated.

Is this the kit with grape skins? If so, that will raise the gravity up to where it should be potentially. Also, how well did you stir?

-Josh

It is the kit with the grape skins. Stirred it up pretty good for about a minute, added the grape skins and took the reading. Maybe I should just let it sit for a few hours and see if it goes up.

Let it sit for a few hours. The sugars in the skins will raise your SG. Give it a good stir a few times during those hours, and measure.

I just started a Vineco LR kit about two weeks ago. SG when I first added the skins was 1.090, but it peaked at 1.102 several hours (and stirrings) later.

1.064 is a little low for that kit. How are you taking the SG reading? With a hydrometer or with a refractometer?

If hydrometer, make sure it is not sticking to the sides of the vessel in which you are taking the reading. Give the hydrometer a good spin before you take the reading.