Kiwi wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chhams

Junior
Reaction score
Newbie here, this year I have 100 kilos kiwi and want to utilize the kiwi. Anyone knows the receipe with calculations(ph level, temperature, alcohol level) for kiwi wine? Step by step process?

FF6CBE0B-CA62-48DB-9865-23992F049933.jpeg

Here’s a couple recipes…good luck!
I was not familiar with Terry Garey's book -- thanks for posting.

@Chhams, the only differences between the two recipes is the amount of acid blend and the choice of yeast.

For acid, the dominant acids in kiwi is quinic and citric. Since I've not heard of quinic before, which means its availability for winemaking is unlikely, I'd add citric acid instead of acid blend, assuming you can get it. But I have no idea what products are available in Nepal, so if you can't get citric, I'd go with acid blend or tartaric.

Yeast? ANY wine yeast will work, although I'd go with a white wine yeast, such as those recommended in the posted recipes.

A lot of older recipes call for low amounts of fruit. You'll find a lot of discussion on this forum pushing for higher amounts, so the resulting wine tastes like the fruit. Having eaten a fair amount of kiwi, I'd target 5.5 to 6.5 lbs per gallon, 2.5 to 2.95 kg.

YMMV

Here’s a couple recipes…good luck!
Thanks someone already shared this attachment already to me
I was not familiar with Terry Garey's book -- thanks for posting.

@Chhams, the only differences between the two recipes is the amount of acid blend and the choice of yeast.