I have a million questions and am a newbie here.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hayseedjim

Reaction score
So far I have made a Merlot-Cabernet and a Pinot-Noir from kits. They turned out to be pretty good,(only aged for two months) and now they are gone! Since then I have made a 6 gallon Blackberry (60%)- Raspberry (40%), harsh but delicious,( need patience to let it age), a 5 gallon Peach, a 5 gallon Peach/Raison,(both of which taste terrible), a 5 gallon Black Plum, a 6 gallon Blackberry, a 5 gallon Blackberry/Raison, another Pinot-Noir (kit), a Shiraz (kit) and one more 5 gallon Blackberry (Fermenting). All of these are still in carboys. As you can probably see, I am not one who slowly starts a project. So here come the questions that I have. You don't need to answer them all- only the ones that you are pretty sure of the answers.
1) If the kit wine is still fermenting after the alloted time for the next step- do you proceed as per the directions, or do you let it continue fermenting?
2) Do you allow a carboy of wine to continue to ferment- or do you stop it at a certain point? (SG).
4)Is it a common practice to blend wines?
5)If you start a fruit wine-can you treat it like a kit wine and add the same ingredients (chemicals) to speed up the process?
Thanks for your input.
Jim
P.S.
I still have a million more questions!!!

2) Do you allow a carboy of wine to continue to ferment- or do you stop it at a certain point? (SG).
4)Is it a common practice to blend wines?
Jim
P.S.
I still have a million more questions!!!

Welcome to the forum Jim.

I have 2 answers for you, and as I am not a kit wine
maker and so I do not have any experience with them I will not comment on kits or their methods.

2) Always let your carboys ferment out and then take the next step.