How to tell final SG?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arthur2647

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, i have been making a wine now for a few weeks using red star montrachet yeast. The starting SG was ~1.116 and the final sg based on the room temp water measurement was around 1.006 ( guessing the hydrometer is slightly off). Am i looking to end up with 1.006 or more like 1.000? I'm not really sure what to look for exactly as i want it to be on the dry side, but maybe not bone dry. This is my first time so any input is helpful. thanks

There is prob a correction that needs to be applied if its at 72F vs 60F so it's likely more like 1.008 which is dry for a beer but not so much for a wine. You are likely looking for something less than 1.000.

With SG from 1.116 to 1.006, your ABV is around 15%. red star montrachet yeast has an alcohol tolerance of 13%, so you are probably done.

> i want it to be on the dry side

Taste it. If it tastes ok to you then call it a day. If it is still too sweet, then to ferment the last little bit of sugar, pitch some EC-1118 yeast.

1.116 (or 27.2 brix) is a very high starting point. The potential alcohol is around 16.9abv which is way more than the upper limit of 13% for red star.

Like richmke said, if you are hoping for a dry wine...

go with EC-1118 (a champagne yeast) that is a lot more tolerant, add a dose of yeast nutrient, and warm the must to around 80 degrees F.