Other How long?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Prince

Reaction score
I'm new to this. I have a batch in the bucket but it will take ONE YEAR before I can drink it. I need a quick fix! Any thing drinkable in four weeks?
Thanks,
Need a drink

Nothing I know of that would be that quick except for a trip to the liquor store

John,

What wine do you have going? Generally, white wines are ready before reds. Also, the year that is recommended before drinking is not a hard and fast rule. I have several wines in various stages, none of which is more than 5 months into the process and several are "drinkable." They will improve with time, but at present they are okay, even some reds. Also, it is educational to try them as they mature to experience the process first hand.

The "wine cooler" kits (i.e., Orchard Breezin and Summer Breeze) aren't going to improve much (if at all) with age, so they will be ready to drink within two months. If you like the light sweet summer-y wines, then that's the ticket. And the time is right to get some made now for the June-July August timeframe.

But if you were hoping to make elegant, silky, hearty reds in 2-3 months, then you're out of luck. Those are the ones that take 1-2 years. I just had the last bottle of a MM Alljuice Caberlot (cabernet-merlot blend) that I bottled in June 2009 - really good, although it tasted about the same last fall; much better than it did in the first year, however.

lol, Waldo is correct. Quick trip to the wine store.
smiley4.gif

I took the advice from others here to make a couple of kits that were early drinking kits and a couple of kits that need a year or more. That way you can build your stash of wines and have something to drink while waiting for the others to age.