hooray Blackberry wine!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nasv

Reaction score
After recently purchasing my starter package equipment, and as a TOTAL newbie at wine making, I'm very excited to share that, together with my wife, we have "created" our FIRST must for our 1 gallon batch and our initial measurements came out favorably: 1.092 SG and about 0.65% acid. We are actually documenting our steps via video to share our experiences and ideally help make it easier for other newbs out there like us (or show them what NOT to do).

We are using the blackberry recipe from the purple FVW winemaker's recipe handbook. The funnest part so far has been crushing the blackberries in the nylon bag and seeing all the extracted juice! The toughest so far I think would have to be the cleaning and sanitizing - I consistently felt unsure about the cleanliness and felt that anything I cleaned would be quickly re-contaminated. I hope that the use of the K-meta for sanitizing our equipment in addition the campden in the must does not cause fermentation woes.

We are using a 5g packet of 71B-1122 yeast and for pure learning purposes, we are creating a yeast starter based on the picture-HOW-TO instructions in this forum (my understanding was that we should not need the starter for the 1g must, but that it won't hurt). I will wait for the starter to be bubbling tomorrow morning, give it a swirl, and then tomorrow night I plan to just pour it into our primary fermentor with the must.

Well, I'm very excited about this process and project and just wanted to share. If you have any tips or any corrections or any pitfalls specific to my process, let me know!

-Nico