HELP

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fraser1970

Junior
Reaction score
this is my first time making wine. I followed the instructions and left the wine in the primary fermenter for two weeks. it was looking good as far as fermenting. Im about to transfer the wine into carboy, but i checked the potential alcohol is at zero. Do i need to waste the wine and start over?

My guess is you are reading the hydrometer wrong and the specific gravity is 1.000 or less. Double check it. If the potential alcohol says 0, that means it is dry or finished fermenting. Don't dump it out, just learn to read the test instrument correctly. Good lucj and welcome.

Yeah.... It is finished dry. Your hydrometer started out saying your must had potenticial for 11-15% ABV.(most likely).But now that the wine has become that, The hydrometer is sinking to the 0% level.

It's all good.

fraser1970 said:
this is my first time making wine. I followed the instructions and left the wine in the primary fermenter for two weeks. it was looking good as far as fermenting. Im about to transfer the wine into carboy, but i checked the potential alcohol is at zero. Do i need to waste the wine and start over?

To add briefly to what Appleman posted. Potential Alcohol is only relative before fermentation. The specific gravity is a indicator of alcohol content. When the wine ferments the gravity goes down as the sugar is convert to alcohol. There are several calculations to compute the estimated alcohol from the difference between starting SG and final SG.

One is % Alcohol by Volume = Start SG-Final SG/.00736

THANK YOU! yes its sinking to the ZERO line. So im ok to transfer it to the carboy than???

fraser1970 said:
THANK YOU! yes its sinking to the ZERO line. So im ok to transfer it to the carboy than???