Hello from Winnipeg

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doublestorm

Junior
Reaction score
Hiya gang,
I came across the forum the other day and figured I'd sign on the dotted line!

I'm quite new to wine making and I've only tackled a few kit wines so far - I figure you need to learn to walk before you can run! Hopefully I'll gain the knowledge to be a big boy and eventually get away from the kits.

I have a chemistry degree and I've been working in a field where I've been working with water quality analyses (among other things) for the past 18 years...that's been a bit of a plus getting into this hobby/obsession! It also gives me the chance to buy my home "toys" from my suppliers from work. (Moslty higher-end analytical quality stuff that I get when my supplier has a demo blow out sale!)

Another bonus is that at work I have some amazing lab toys that I can use:
- a densitometer that reads SG to 5 decimal points
- the densitometer has a function to measure ABV to 2 decimal points
- densitometer also measures BRIX to 2 decimal points
- pH meters
- TDS meters
- conductivity and ORP meters
- a quite sophisticated auto-titrator to measure TA (we just happen to use 0.1N NaOH which is the same reagent used here...comes in handy!)
- a micro clean-room which I use for plating samples for yeast, mold, bacteria
Well, that's the tip of the iceberg for starts! :h

I know I can contribute when it comes to the chemistry/testing/water quality end of the spectrum...I'll trade ya for your knowledge of the meat-n-potatoes wine making end of things. Deal? :h

Looking forward to getting to know you all....

Cheers!

Last edited: