Heat gun versus boiling water to seal shrink caps

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I use the heat gun 100%. Tried boiling water on my first batch and was disappointed to say the least in the results. Heat gun (on low) gives a better more even result for me anyway.

Heat gun works better than boiling water, but I have found that a steamer works best for me. I use a steamer to press my dress clothes, so I already had one on hand.

Thanks Mike, is that a good one at 1,500w?
And, do you point the gun to the side of the caps or any special way or better way to use it?

I've never used it before.

I used a small lazy susan. Placed the bottle on it, spun it around while hitting the capsule with heat gun. after some experience you can get distance and setting right.

Geek, I have the same one from Harbor Freight. I haven't had any problems with mine yet. Once you do a couple you will get the hang of it quick.

Hold the shrink wrap capsule down and hold the gun above the bottle pointing down at the top. Once the top shrinks to the bottle it will stay in place and you can do the sides.

I always use the heat gun. Just try not to hit directly on top of cap

Will a hair dryer work or does it take a heat gun to get the job done? Reason I ask is because I just use shrink caps for wine bottles leaving the house and it really does bother me to boil a pot of water to just do a bottle or two or three.

a blow dryer on high would work fine for 2 or 3 bottles. It just takes a little longer

Years ago I stole my wife's hair dryer. I am sure she needed an excuse to buy another expensive one.

I have used this clunky hair dryer for years, it takes a little longer, but I compate this by just spacing out the capping to a few a day!

What ever works