Greetings to all

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nbwii

Reaction score
Hello, I am a newbie to this site and to wine making. I am about to start my first batch (a Grand Cru Merlot kit). My problem is that I have read how important equipment sanitation is and the recommendation to use eithe iodophor or starsan for this purpose. However, I live in the Bahamas and I have not been able to find either. I have found a product called Sanirex. Has anyone ever heard of or used this product or do you think I can use it on my equipment. The label has instructions for use on food preparation equipment and it says "NO POTABLE WATER RINSE IS ALLOWED"

What do you think? Any guidance appreciated.

Not sure about the product you have, I am sure someone will chime in soon. But just wanted to answer you as,,sanitation is very important to winemaking, sanititize everything that touches the juice/wine even your hands. You'll be happy you did. If you can't find what you need there in the Bahamas,,,look at the venders list under the forum tab above, you can order what you need on line. Best of luck and welcome to the forum!!

Thanks Terry. I hope someone answers soon. I really excited and eager to get started but I don't want to poison myself and family with tainted wine.:e

I would not use it! it appears to have a fragrence that would probably taint the wine. Although sanitation is critical, it does not mean that everything must be sterile. In my opinion, if every thing is clean enough to eat off of, it will be good enough to make wine. so clean everything well, rince with clean fresh water and go ahead and make your wine, It will be OK!