glass or plastic carboy's

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
as I'm new to this and still building my equipment, I'd like to know the preferences of those with vastly more experience about the pro's and con's with glass vs plastic carboy's, since I'm only just starting out I only have 6 plastic, 5 gallon carboys and 2 stainless steel 5 gallon carboys, and 3 plastic 1 gallon carboys and 2 plastic 1/2 gallon carboy's,, I've done figured out the stainless is mostly only good for aging already cleared wine since you can't see your lees so racking's not easy with stainless steel carboys, glass I worry about breaking, but before I spend much more money,,, I'd really love yall's input on this matter as well as any other advice offered by ya'll, I learnt young that it's far cheaper to learn from others mistakes and triumphs as well,,, :ib since I'm not addicted as ya'll all seem to be I probably will only be needing 10 to 15 more 5 gallon carboys , about 5 more 1 gallons and maybe 5 or 6 more 1/2 gallon carboys,,,,,:h,, I use the gallon and half gallon carboys to keep my toping up wine, I make about 7 gallon batches so when racking my 5's I have 2 gallons to top up with, I use homegrown fruit so doing my primary's in 7 gallon batches seem the best for me,,,

I would say get a glass one or two, try it out and see which you like the best. I am kinda in the glass crowd, but have a few of the plastic carboys also. Arne.

With 6 plastic carboys, you are past the point of using a vacuum pump. It would cost you $100-$200 net to replace them with glass (which you need to use the vacuum pump), and then another $200 for the pump. I'm not saying I wouldn't do it, but it is a consideration.