Gallon jugs

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmyers63

Reaction score
I'm just getting started and have amost no equipment other than what I use for brewing beer (5 gallon setup). Can I use plastic bottles that juice some in from the grocery store for aging small batches.? I know they must be food grade, but will they keep the oxygen out long term?

Those plastic bottle will allow your wine to oxidize quickly. They will not prevent oxygen from getting into the wine. The only plastic bottle that will not let it in is a Better Bottle. Even the blue water bottle you get for water fountains leak oxygen.

Use glass jugs.

Welcome aboard!!!

I agree - use glass bottles. I would also recommend not wasting time on 1 gallon batches.

It takes the same about of effort to do a 3, 5, or 6 gallon batch.

I also use plastic water Jugs because of two reasons :

1- My Equipments let me make only small Batches (5 liters) .

2- I don't have access to any other kind of Carboys .

Besides , I keep the Jug in a cold water bath to control the fermentation temperature .

Is the Wine still in danger of oxidation , as the Jug is surrounded with water ?!

Hector

I'm starting with small batches because I've got enought blackberries to start this way. Maybe I can turn my wife loose on the garage sale circuit and come up with some glass and freeze the berries in the interum.

I'm starting with small batches because I've got enought blackberries to start this way. Maybe I can turn my wife loose on the garage sale circuit and come up with some glass and freeze the berries in the interum.

Post your blackberry recipe...