Fleishmans EVER?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firejohn03

Reaction score
I am a real novice to winemaking. I have followed a passed down recipe all my life. The only thing is, I have always used bread yeast. I have a lot more passion than knowledge and could use some explanation on the difference of yeasts. Thanks. New to the forum and enjoying the threads. P.s I have always made a wild muscadine wine.

Welcome to the forums! Different kinds of yeast have different characteristics. These include:

1. Different alcohol tolerances
  2. Different optimal temperatures
  3. Different nutrient requirements
  4. Different attenuation characteristics ( ability to eat different kinds of sugars [ much more important in beer])
  5. and most importantly, different flavor contributions.
There are quite a few other things that go into choosing a yeast strain to use in a wine but those are all the major ones that I could think of at the moment. I would recomend that you use a good wine yeast over a bread yeast since the wine yeast is meant to deal with the acidic conditions of the must much better than bread yeast. Also, wine yeast tends to survive alcoholic environments much better and also tends to compact better while at the same time tends to give a better flavor profile. This is not to say that using bread yeast is a sin, but usually I would use it as only a last resort....

Since I assume you are just now starting your journey on LEARNING about the KNOWLEDGE portion of making wine I assume that their are quite a few things you need to read up on. I would recomend that you get these products if you do not have them already.