RJ Spagnols First wine kit question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Redskins

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at making a wine so i just bought a cheap kit from a local brew supply store. It is a Grand Cru Pinot Grigio. I have it in the primary fermenter right now and it is on its 8th day. The instructions say to move it to a carboy and add the other packets on the 14th day however from everything i have been reading most people seem to be only leaving wine in primary fermenter for about 7 days. Is 14 days too long for a primary fermenter? The airlock is still bubbling at the top so i would guess that if i put it in the carboy the top might end up popping off.

Also, should i take the lid off before 14 days is up to test the hydrometer reading and then put the lid back on or just leave it be?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

For primary, the number of days is more a general time frame and can change drastically, depending on temperature and other factors.

During primary, rather than go by a specific number of days, use your hydrometer. Your instructions should say what the SG should be when it is time to move the wine from primary to secondary. (Usually between 1.010 and 1.020, but follow your kit instructions)

For time in secondary, it is best to leave the wine in for the number of days specified, as the wine picks up some nice characteristics during the secondary time frame.

However, before you remove the wine from secondary, make sure the SG reading is at or below 1.000 and that it hasn't changed for 3 days in a row. So, 3 days before the number of days for secondary are completed, check the SG. Then, on the last day check it again. If it hasn't dropped, move on to the stabilizing phase.

Good luck and have fun. It will get easier with each kit you make.

Thanks for the quick response!