First time wine making a questions on blueberry wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alexey

Reaction score
Hello I’m completely new to wine making. I’ve read a lot of the threads on here, and decided to ask on my own.

I’m making blue berry wine because my girlfriend loves It so much I decided to give it a shot. I fermented it in a 2 gallon bucket and racked it in (2) 1 gal cariboys. The wine taste very strong hopefully it will be sweeter end of this week (it will have been 2 weeks in first rack) I’m going to rack it again back into the bucket for the final racking on August 27, 2020. How long should blue berry wine be racked before bottling, after second racking? Also I’ve read on few different replies on back sweetening the wine, i need to add pills or something. I have a bunch of the stuffy already purchased.

Please help 😬

I would get a couple more 1 gal jugs and rack into them to keep oxygen away from the wine. Then let it sit till it looks clear , maybe a month. Then rack again and add potassium sorbate and sugar syrup. Then bottle it or wait a few weeks or months and bottle it. Be sure to add so2 as well.

We don't have blueberries here other than the frozen section in supermarkets. Lol. When learning about winemaking, this blueberry wine making video stood out, and is very informative.
I hope it helps.

We don't have blueberries here other than the frozen section in supermarkets. Lol. When learning about winemaking, this blueberry wine making video stood out, and is very informative.
I hope it helps.

Ive watched this video over and over and over again. It’s where I got the idea of wanting to make some. Lol. I’m just looking for people to communicate with along the way.