First Batch WE Sonoma Pinot Noir

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnl

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all-
I'm new to wine making myself but have many friends and family that have taken up the hobby. I opted to go with a kit for my first attempt and chose to make the Eclipse Sonoma Pinot Noir kit.

I started primary fermentation on Jan 12th. I used bottled FIJI spring water. My starting sg was 1.105. My temp range in the primary fermentation area was 72 degrees f. I tested sg after six days and found it to be 1.005, so I racked to a six gallon glass carboy.
I moved the carboy to a more consistent, slightly warmer temperature area that maintains 73-75 degrees f. I tested the sg of the primary
fermentation at day 7, sg was 1.002; tested at day 11 and sg was at 1.001; and tested yesterday, day 15, and found sg at 1.000.

As of today, I have not added sorbate, meta or the chitosan. (I'm at the end of step 2 and trying to be patient!)

My questions are:
1) with a starting sg at 1.105 (five thousandths above the referenced starting range in my kit directions of 1.080-1.100), will my ending sg be .005 higher than the directions in the kit reflect I should be at the end of the secondary fermentation process (.996 or less), so I should only expect sg of 1.001or less?

2) Do I need to just continue to wait and be patient and it will eventually hit the .996?

3)is there anything that could be hurting the wine at this point? Will it be damaged if I continue to let it go? I have not attempted to degas.

Any insight and advice is greatly appreciated!

ImageUploadedByWine Making1391458206.741796.jpg

Last edited:
forget about it for a couple of weeks and then recheck it. head space is good and if you haven't degassed you should be ok.