extra hydrometer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
ROFLMAO, well I guess this is a good measure that you have graduated to being a full fledged winemaker!!!!!!! :try

I feel for ya, Mike. Guess ya best buy a couple of extras next time you get supplies. Having an extra or two usually insures you are not going to break one. Sounds like you have a jinx on your back. Hope the jinx stays away from your wines. Arne.

Mike it's been a while since I broke a hydrometer but this year I broke two hydrometer jars in two days. My jars are 250ml glass cylinders and I dropped the hydrometer in them when they were empty and it poked a hole in them each time. That was an expensive lesson learned.

That is too funny, Mike. Hopefully, this phase will pass!

I am a newbie, so I have only broken one (a few months ago). I promptly went out and bought a replacement. That's right, singular. A week or so later, I thought, "What am I, nuts or stupid?" So I did indeed buy a backup before it has been needed. As Arne points out, that has been enough to keep the breakage at bay.

I can't remember how old my last one was, thats how long it lasted... until 2 nights ago when it was soaking in sanitizer and my 6 yr old daughter got to it!

My record for breaking hydrometers during a single fall season is 5. Yup, that's right, 5. This is after 25 years of winemaking.

So that is how many I keep in my winery, 5. I'll be in great shape right up until I break my own record! :) :)