Exothermic

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Billaban

Reaction score
Greetings,

I have been brewing beer for many years and had never been aware that fermentation is exothermic. Ambient temps in various rooms have always done me well for brewing.

I started my first wine kit today. The slab floor in my unfinished basement in MD today is 46 degrees. I made a insulated enclosure w/ plywood and 2x4s and obviously insulation. Perhaps most importantly a insulated base for the enclosure to get off the slab floor. Additionally I'm using a FermWrap heater w/ a Johnson controller to hopefully maintain 72 degrees.

So I'm wondering about a exothermic fermentation, i.e., if I have insulated too well will my temp actually climb beyond the desired range? I suppose the only solution is to monitor temp and remove the lid of my enclosure if the temp rises.

Yes, fermentation is exothermic. I personally have not witnessed any effects of this, although on this forum I have read many people who reported they can keep a decently high temperature in their must during fermentation by using blankets around their fermenting bucket. I have heard only a few, very few, accounts of fermentation buckets getting too hot due to the reaction. (Of course, this can be a problem in a commercial winery, with much larger tanks, but not often a problem in the home.)

Bottom line: I think you are correct, the only solution is to monitor your temperature. But I also think that at 46 F ambient, you will have no problems getting too hot, even with a well-insulated box. I think your FermWrap will be on more than it will be off!

>>> I think your FermWrap will be on more than it will be off!

That appears to be the case. Currently only managing to hold 70 degrees this morning. I have added more insulation.