Doing welches first should be manditory

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scotty

Reaction score
I started 2 gallons yesterday. One grape and one cranberry strawberry. Now im getting fancy. Gallons with bungs and airlocks. Sanitization, hydrometer and ph adjusting.

HEY!!!!No bubblung after 24 hours in either one. There is a bit of foam on both gallons of liquid. but no bubbling in the airlock. The lighter liquid has a zillion small bubbles in it. I can't see into the grape liquid. SOOOOOOOOOO I decide to see the effects of yeast nutrient. I use 1/8 teaspoon into the grape, it foams a bit. I replace the airlock and yahoo bubbling in the airlock. Im a chemist now.

I do the same to the lighter colored gallon, replace the airlock and no bubbling.

1/2 day later, i decide to try yeast energizer. 1/8 teaspoon and a stir seemed in order but still no bubbling.

After standing there for about 15 minutes looking for one crummy bubble. i noticed a hair of movement in theairlock and the foam on the((MUST)) if i may call it that is getting a bit thicker.

Finally my brain kicks in andI just tighten the bung in the bottle and push the air lock in a bit tighter.

it's working

The moral is better to goof up with welches than some zillion dollar juice

it's fun though and so far i have learned to test the SG and adjust sugar before adding yeast and be sure the airlocks are properly seated.

smiley18.gif
smiley36.gif
Edited by: scotty

Scotty,