Degassing

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grancru

Reaction score
Welcome everyone. I am new to this forum.

One week ago I bought 7 cases of Cabernet grapes, had them crushed/destemed and are now fermenting naturally in two 15 gal. mini brew fermentors.

I push the cap down three times daily but am not sure if I should be activley mixing to degass on a daily basis. I have a mixing unit I made for my drill that works great. Should I use this? If so when and how often? Took a reading yesterday of 1.2 so still a ways to go for dry.

I have successfully made many meads/molemels but this is my first attempt at grape wine. I would like to complete the wine with no additives if possible.
Any direction for success is greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately my photos are to large to post here.
20101005_094747_053.jpg

first off...welcome

second...reduce the photo size via many of your programs on your computer and they will fit here...pics are worth a thousand words

as far as no additives....do you call sulfite one? if so, then just realize you run the risk of long term spoilage..maybe even short term..sulfites are not necessarily the bad thing they are often made out to be...and teh grape that you chose, the cab, is one of those wines that like and benefit from time in a tank or bottle

as far as degassing goes...your pressing of the grapes will take care of most f that...as also will any rackings...and of course...simple time

kits are the degassing king

i have never once in all my years ever needed to degas wine made from grapes via a manual method such as w a drill or vacuum assist

Hi John,

First, welcome to the FVW forums!
20101005_093734_kgo_057.gif

Glad you found us. Love the Mini Brew set up.That is pretty neat.