dashwig

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Well, guess what @Dashwig, welcome aboard to the greatest place for winemakers. Get your questions answered and tons of advise.
Hi people, I'm trying to get in to write but for some reasons I have problems getting it through so unless this goes through it will be brief. I love my home made wine, the kits (mostly) are great and I prefer them to buying off the shelf. I am now progressing and getting things together to make my own, to start with from 'Ocean Spray Cran . Pomegranate' juice, I've heard it's great but to check the Ph, I have been trying to find a recipe since it's a first for me but so far no luck. I am still learning, but do you ever stop learning?

We never stop learning. You don’t really need a recipe. If you can find pH strips that’s a good start for making sure your must isn’t too acidic, 3.5 is a decent target, no lower than 3.0 and no higher than 4.0

A hydrometer will measure the density of the sugar solution must, a good target is 1.090. Your recipe may or may not get you to these targets so it should be used as a guide, or perhaps to make up a shopping list.