Cloudy wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikefrommichigan

Reaction score
I started a another kit last week, a Viognier, and stirred it every couple of days during primary fermentation. I checked the SG this morning and it read 0.998.
Great, time to rack for secondary fermentation. So instead of transferring to a carboy right away I accidently stirred the wine again, so it became very cloudy.
I then transferred to a carboy.

I then thought about what happened and wondered if I should have waited a few days before racking off, to let the wine clear a little first. Should I just continue and transfer again after the secondary has finish?

Thanks

Mike

I'm just getting started so take this answer for what its worth. I would think you're fine. You'll be clarifying in the secondary. Hopefully, some experienced folks will chime in :)

No worries. You'll be racking again after secondary is complete.

Just don't stir it before hand. ;)

GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU: why would you stir the mix while it was in the fermentation process? where did you read that in the instruction's?Boatboy was correct put in the carboy and let it sit for at least a week in between then take a readying or two to make sure the wine is still. What mfg. kit was this if I may ask?:u picture 1+going into the secondary, picture 2 is the cleared product after or about two weeks of clearing with superkleer, don't be surprise if you have to clear more than once.:d

11.jpg

13.jpg

Last edited:
sour_grapes:

The instructions you referenced say:

Using a sterilised spoon, push the grapes under the surface of the liquid once every day for the next 7 days, stirring gently.

Pretty sure no grapes in a viognier kit.

Steve