Christmas sweet wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RonObvious

Reaction score
So I'm trying to craft a very small batch of sweet wine and have it ready by this Christmas. I've never done a dessert wine before so I'm wondering if those of you with more experience in the matter can help me guide it down the right path.

A little more info: This past weekend we picked up 8 carboys of juice, all of which were very generously filled right up into the necks of the carboys. I knew that if I didn't remove a little juice from each, they would overflow into the airlocks and make a mess when fermentation began. I took a few ounces of juice out of each one and unscientifically dumped all this excess into a 1-gallon glass carboy I had lying around. I ended up with about 3/4 gallon of mixed juice, which is about 50% Seyval Blanc, 40% Aromella, and 10% Marquette. A true hodge podge! I threw some yeast in with it and figured that the wife and I might have a few bottles of mongrel rose to drink one day.

A few days later and it's bubbling away happily now. But then I gets to thinkin' - I've always wanted to make a sweet, high alcohol dessert wine for the holidays and put it in 375 ml bottles. So I'm wondering if I can intervene with my little experiment and make a good sweet wine out of it in the next few months?

I'm thinking of adding more sugar now to get it up to about 35 brix or so (realizing that some of the sugar has already been consumed by the yeast, so I'll have to go by calculations based on the initial brix, which was about 19). Also maybe oak it generously or use oak tannin such as Tannin Riche to create a bold vanilla character. I'm unclear about whether I should fortify it or not, and if so, with how much. Advice and comments are appreciated!