Chardonnay help?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

galaxy_5

Junior
Reaction score
So this is my first year working from grapes since I am fortunate enough to now be stationed in central California and the gettin's good here! So yesterday I picked up about 100# of chardonnay from down in the central valley. It's testing at almost 30 brix :sh with a pH about 4.0. So using the online calculator at vinoenology.com it looks like the 6 gallons of juice I have I need to add 1.7 gal of water to get the brix down to 24. I pressed yesterday evening, and my homebrew store isn't open until tomorrow, so I won't be able to buy tartaric acid until then (and add tomorrow evening, nearly 48 hours after pressing and 60 hours after picking). Is this an acceptable course of action or am I royally hosed at this point? Of course I want a balanced chardonnay, but do I eat it now and adjust the acid after fermentation or hold the yeast until I can adjust the acid?

Sorry I didn't see this post earlier but if you can get to your LHBS first thing this morning I would go ahead and add the tartaric acid. It is always good to adjust prior to fermentation but you will not ruin the wine if you do it after fermentation.

Normally you wait 24 hours for wine to clear the rack off residual skins etc before adding yeast. another 24 hours will not hurt Keep wine cold, add potassium metabisulphite the do acid adjustments. Proper Ph is necessary for good environment for yeast. Ph at 4.0 invites other bacteria to inhabit wine.

Thanks guys. Sounds like I'll be okay. When I was picking up all my stuff last week I didn't even think about needing acid adjustments. Won't make that mistake again.