Cellar Craft kit with pulp (lots of questions)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gird123

Reaction score
I'm very new to wine making. I bought a 6 gallon cellar craft Barbera kit with the pulp. I don't have a primary large enough. Is it OK to split the pulp and juice using two primaries then combine in 1 six gallon carboy after primary? Should I buy a larger primary and if so does any one have a primary they really like? I'm using a few beer bottling buckets some one gave me.

Also the kit says it is a 5 week kit. 5 days in primary then 4 weeks in secondary. The kit has a little card that says better results with longer time on skins. How long should I leave it on skins? And how long in secondary? Once in secondary should I rack again?

thank you

I break my primaries up all the time - nothing wrong with that. Don't go off the days the kit says - go off of the SG - when the wine gets to about 1.010 - 1.015 rack to secondary.

Do you have a hydrometer?

I do. Do you ever need to add sugar to the kits? Do i need to check acid?

To be honest - i have never done a kit - i always do grapes or fruit.

I add sugar to my fruits to get an SG between 1.080 - 1.085.

For my drier whites i go for an SG at 1.095 - i did chardonel and seyval this year.

I didn't have to add any sugar to the chardonel - i did add a little to the seyval though. So it just depends on what the SG is to start off with.

I always take an acid reading:

fruits - .60
whites - .70 - .75