bpm's ?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjdtexan

Reaction score
As yall know, I am new to making wines/meads. I started my 1 gallon of JAO the day before I started my 6 gallon wine kit. 02-26 2009 is the start date of the mead. Anyway I took the 6 gallon wine kit out of the primary yesterday and put it in the 6 gallon carboy. This morning I go to take a look at the mead and wine kit and noticed that I am getting a whole bunch more action out of the wine kit than I am in the mead. Is this normal? I think that I am getting a bubble every 3 or 4 seconds out of the mead and it looks like I am getting 2 or 3 bubbles every second out of the wine kit.

If you made the JAO per directions with the bread yeast it will normally ferment slower and longer than the average wine yeast. Also the yeast cell count is higher in a packet of wine yeast than bread yeast. Every JAO I have ever made will have an explosive fermentation start and then after a day or so bubble real slow and for a while. All that really matters is it is fermenting.

smurfe said:
If you made the JAO per directions with the bread yeast it will normally ferment slower and longer than the average wine yeast. Also the yeast cell count is higher in a packet of wine yeast than bread yeast. Every JAO I have ever made will have an explosive fermentation start and then after a day or so bubble real slow and for a while. All that really matters is it is fermenting.