blackberry wine perhaps had a wild yeast start?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCMOMMA

Junior
Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello I posted this in the beginners forum, but I thought I would try here as well.

I just made a batch of blackberry wine. I planned to make 1 gallon, so I bagged the berries, poured the boiled sugar water over them and was prepared to pitch the yeast when I recieved another batch of berries unexpectedly. Not having two primary fermenters and being a complete amateur, I thought I would just add the new berries in another bag and pour the boiled sugar water in with the cooled berry water mix. So I did this and added pectin and yeast nutrient and one campden tablet- (which I forgot to double-untill later). I then went to pitch the yeast and it was bubbling, fizzy smelling and tasting. I thought "uh oh" but still added a pack of monratchet yeast as it called for and I added the other campden tablet. When I added the packet of yeast it really bubbled and now it seems to be fermenting. My question is. How do I know if this goes bad? Is there anything more I can do to prevent this. My hydrometer reads 11 percent alcohol after adding the yeast one day ago. Recipie says to wait a week before secondary. Should I be watching the hydrometer readings looking for a smell, flavor etc to tell if this will be salvageable..as it seems it started with a wild yeast? I am not sure if the montratchet will take over or what but I am open to any help or feedback. Thanks!