Beginners questions about tasting corks and Kmeta

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chiumanfu

DIY Vintner
Reaction score
I'm a complete beginner (wine-making and wine in general) and I bought a kit from my local shop to get started. The kit I bought is the Winekitz Ultimate Estate Reserve Chile Vieux Chateau du Roi (8 week).

My first question is the kit did not include Kmeta, only Diversol. If I follow the directions to sanitize everything using the Diversol properly, do I even need to use Kmeta?

Also about the corks that were included in the kit. From my googling, they appear to be tasting corks. Will these be ok to age the wine?
photooae.jpg

I'm assuming that the Diversol came with the equipment kit, not the wine kit.

Diversol (aka pink powder) is NOT a prefered sanitizer for wine makers due to it's chlorine content, and the effort required. To sanitize properly with Diversol, you need to soak the items in the solution for a period of time. Some folks say 10 minutes, others 20 minutes. I was taught 30 minutes (at a Wine Kitz store). Then it needs to be rinsed very well.

Personally I would wander back and get some K-meta.

Just being nosy here, but which WK store/where do you live? [Please update the Location field in the User CO, so that I don't ask every time.] I want to know which store to avoid.

The corks are NOT good for aging the wine. They were probably included because very few first time wine makers age their wine, and most don't want to pay for a corker. Although I thought that most WK stores would rent you a corker (for free if you bought the kit from them).

Steve

Thanks cpfan.

Another question. Do those stick on thermometers work for glass carbouys and plastic primaries? I have a few from my aquarium days and was wondering if I could use them to keep track of temperature.

Cheers.