banana wine oxidation happy mistake

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dawgster

Junior
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I wanted to share an experience I had with making banana wine and I'm new to this forum so I'm posting in the beginner's section. I'm not a complete newbie, but I am not very "serious" about winemaking in terms of measuring everything carefully, etc, etc. I kind of throw stuff together and say a prayer. :D I'm in India and I have a soft spot for banana wine as bananas are readily available year-round and it's an easy wine to make (for me at least!) in that it always tastes ok 😋
The last time I made banana wine I used a different container for fermentation. Usually I use a carboy-type container with thin neck but this time I used a bucket with an (allegedly) air-tight lid. However, it must not be been so air-tight as after opening it up I discovered to my horror that the banana, which always was a yellowish colour was this time a deep, dark brown colour. I was sure it was spoilt. But after desperately tasting it I was pleasantly surprised to see (taste I mean!) that it had a different, more rich kind of flavour. I consider it the best tasting banana wine I've made. Anyway, I guess it must be due to accidental (on my part) exposure to more oxygen than normal. Maybe some other forum members with some experience can comment. But just thought I'd share my happiness with you all 😇