Auto Siphon Wine\Beer?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Underboss

Reaction score
I know not to use the same Fermenting Bucket for wine and beer.Would it be okay to use the same auto siphon or should I get one just for beer?

Thanks Appleman. I thought it would be okay but never made a beer before and want to make sure I'm doing it right. I was going to make a Coopers no boil kit. Do you know anything about them? I was thinking about the Bitter. I've read both good and bad about them. I'm wanting something that will be along the lines of a Sam Adams Boston Lager.

I have made4 Coopers no-boil kits - the "lager" that comes with the kit, the Cerveza,the Real Ale, and the Irish Stout.I am not a beer expert, but, to me, they are delicious and better than just about anything I buy in the store. I guess the Cerveza was my least favorite of the group (although I still enjoyed it and it is gone now). I would do the Real Ale and the Stout again - even the lager would be good for a summertime brew.

Wayne, you have me thinking about the Real Ale. I started an Irish Stout from IronMaster this past weekend. I am going to start another batch this weekend. I like full body beer with lots flavor so I might go with the Ale. Thanks.

When you are making beer what kind of sugar do you use; Dry malt extract or table sugar? The dry malt extract is kind expensive but if it will make a much better beer I'll use it.

I wouldn't use table sugar unless I was just plain broke - I understand it gives the beera "cidery" taste and imagine the beer would be very thin. if you use Coopers, you can see what they recommend you add to the extracton their web site (in terms of additives) and then buy the whole kit from them (expensive) or buy the ingredients at a LHBS (less expensive). Or the people at the LHBS could advise you on what to add.