Argon gas

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Prince

Reaction score
I use argon gas to top off and bulk age in my carboys. I replace the gas every month. I've got 17 carboys filled with wine and argon gas. I've been doing this for 2 years and haven't had a problem yet. I didn't want to blend other wine with what I am making. I don't like using marbles. I had a couple folks say it wasn't the best thing to do. Any thoughts?

It's better than not using it. But generally it is always a risk to have headspace. Seals are not perfect and the argon can be displaced with air quicker than you think.

How can oxygen replace argon if argon is heavier? I understand a temperature change but I use a airlock.

Please believe us when we say that it is never preferred to have any kind of headspace in your vessel.

The problem is this... Wine vessels with headspace will breath! This is due to even minute changes in temperature or barametric pressure. As the pressure of the gas increases, the gas wants to escape either through your fermentation lock or through the "weakest point" of your stopper. The opposite is true for when the pressure decreases (in which case outside air will make its way into your vessel.

Gas expands and contracts! This means that, over time, your argon will be replaed by air. This is way it is not recomended for long term storage.

A way around this is to place your wine into something that is truely pressure tight (like a korney keg). Otherwise, you will run a risk.

Save your money, avoid the cost of argon and the additional equipment involved, and just keep your vessel topped up.

johnT.

I answered this directly in the other thread but I guess you didn't like my answer so try again until you get the answer you like eh.....