Any elderberry, honeyberry, or red currant growers?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigDaveK

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm planting all three this year and they may be shipped early March. Honeyberry says full-sun, other two say full-sun or part-shade. I was wondering what works best for you folks.
When I grow plants from seed I'll do enough to spread around, looking for the sweet spot, and then transplant stragglers to the best locations. I don't have that option with these. Any help/advice is appreciated!

I have elderberry and currant in full sun. At five years with currant I am at the point where I could pick enough for a batch.
I am a newbie with honeyberry and planted mine in full sun. The you tube I have seen from Canada shows a several acre field in full sun with rows for a tractor. The folks I know with it rank it as a five year crop, and one needs to pick every day since berries don’t hang well. Did you pick Russian varieties (more tannic) or Japanese varieties (sweeter)?

Do you guys have a "deer problem" in your area? Unfortunately I do and all bushes and my vegetable garden must be fenced. Deer love those fruits or actually almost everything.

I had black and red currants in the past they grew in full sun. However, I would follow the recommendations because your strain may be different than what I had.

I have elderberry and currant in full sun. At five years with currant I am at the point where I could pick enough for a batch.