All Juice vs Concentrate

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hartm

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to home wine-making. I have my first batch almost ready for bottling.
smiley1.gif

I was wondering what people thought about the differences between using an "All-Juice" kit versus a "Concentrated" kit. My gut feeling is that the concentarted kits would be missing some of the natural components that may be giving wine its flavor since you need to boil off that water to concentrate.

What have your experiences been regarding these two types of kits?

Thanks in advance for the input...
smiley2.gif

hartm, I have made both kinds of kits and honestly, they seem to be neck and neck in the voting department. After age on the wine they ALL were very good. IMHO

1st it really depends on what level kit you are comparing. If looking at reds the low end kits (7ltr)will be thin and lack body. The all juice will have much better taste and body. You are comparing a $5-10 bottle to a $20+ bottle of all juice. Remember you get what you pay for.

I have preferred the wines I made from Alljuice kits to the wines made from concentrate versions, but I have an experiment in the works to compare two Sangiovese kits (all-juice vs. Vinifera Noble) to see how they compare. As has been said before, the different kits peak at different ages, so it would be difficult to compare two same-varietal kits at their respective peaks (concentrate kits peak sooner, all-juice kits can take 2+ years to reach their peak).

To me, the best product comparison is orange juice: fresh-squeezed, store-bought not-from-concentrate, store-bought concentrated juice, and frozen concentrate. Truly fresh-squeezed tastes exceptional, but if you just want a basic glass of orange juice, frozen concentarte will quench your thirst.