Mosti Mondiale Adding chocolate??

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WAG

Reaction score
I have a MM Masters Amarone kit. I just racked it from secondary. I only added sulfite, because I'm gonna let it sit for 2 months. Can I add choc shavings? And is this the best time to do it?

That depends on how 'chocolatey' you want the final product. I haven't made an Amarone, but I have tasted a few - not sure chocolate would be the complement I would go for, but there's nothing wrong with trying. You could add chocolate shavings now - racking the next time could be challenging. I would stick with dark chocolate - as high a percentage of cacao as you can find for the most intense flavor; you don't need the sweetness of the added sugar since it won't integrate into your wine anyway (unless you added chocolate syrup - yech!).

In my experience, adding flavorings that don't dissolve into the wine after fermentation doesn't yield much flavor in the final product. If you want a strong chocolate flavor, my advice wouls be to add chocolate powder when you pitch the yeast. Also, it's easier to rack off with the cocoa sludge at the bottom with the yeast at that first transfer. I did that with a regular port kit about October 2010, bottled it in April 2011, and the chocolate is still subtly merging into the sweeter wine flavors. We just opened a bottle last night and were really pleased with it.