2012 Chilean Carmenere

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sebring96hbg

Junior
Reaction score
Hello!

First post, finally! I bought two pails and one lug of Carmenere from Harford Vineyard in MD. After a thorough search, I could not find any place closer to the suburbs of Harrisburg, PA. The quality of the lug of Carmenere grapes looked very good and were kept in cold storage at Harford until pick-up. Harford is a nice operation run by friendly people.

The must is fermenting in a 20 gallon Brute clone (Huskee brand) that I bought at a restaurant supply store. The brix and TA started at 22.5 and 7.0 g/l. respectively.

I am getting a Hanna Checker pH meter; so, I can feel a little more confident about the post-alcohol fermentation TA test. This is my first attempt with fresh juice after several WE kit wines.

I am following a schedule of staggered nutrient additions using Fermaid-K (2 x 6.25g). I had pitched D254. I dosed the 13.5 gallon must with pectic enzyme (2 tablespoons plus two teaspoons) and k-meta (1/2 teaspoon) 12 and 24 hours, respectively, prior to pitching. When I punch down the cap and stir the lees, I am surprised by how noisy the fermentation is.

This has been fun so far. I wish I had started doing this sooner.

Cheers,
Joe

Last edited:
I got 2 buckets of Sauv Blanc from them, very nice operation and good people.

I just bottled my 2011 Carmenere this past weekend. I think it's going to be fantastic in another year. Right now it's good but it needs more time before becoming awesome! Good luck with it.

Yesterday, I added the second and final addition of Fermaid-K at 6.25g based on an estimated 13.5 gallon must. This morning, the must weighs in at 10 brix after pitching yeast Sunday evening.

My plan is to use oak spirals during MLF. Should I use American or French medium toast? Please advise.