WineXpert 1st choice for a newbie?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pepere

Reaction score
I am a nano second away from ordering a premier starter kit with an extra carboy. I also know I won't have the patience to wait a very long time totaste my first attempt. Knowing a beaujolais is usually best young and slightly chilled I'm leaningin that direction but,I'll take any suggestions to the contrary. Help anyone?

I have no experience with the Bergamais kit but from what I have read on this site it meets the requirements of a first kit: quick to bottle and minimal bottle aging required. Another red that you may also consider is the Bourgeron Rouge or the white Bourgeron Blanc. Welcome to the forum and enjoy that first kit.

Another good one, medium bodied dry red that you can add oak to, is the
Vintner's Reserve Mezza Luna Red. You can start drinking it withing 3
months, but it gets better with more time.

I had the same delimma just a few weeks ago, wanted to taste the results as quick as possible, so I understand. The suggestions above are good ones; you can't go wrong! I started the Bourgeron Rouge kit and found two things -- that it is a "quick" kit and that it is a GREAT learning experience. I'm at the bottling stage and in the last few weeks have learned SO much -- well, let me put it this way: You don't know...what you don't know!
smiley2.gif
Now, I'm perfectly willing touse the whole experience as part of myeducation. So, I'll try a bottle after a few weeks of letting it get over bottle shock (keeping notes!), try another maybe at 3 months (more notes!), and so on -- I'll "know" even more as a result!