yeast won't activate

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyclediscyple

Junior
Reaction score
I'm working w/ wild apricots which were tasty but bitter and added sugar and yeast and then fermented, but the fermentation ceased as the sugar ran out.I care for more alcohol so I added sugar and more yeast but the yeast won't activate.I know this method is not approved by wine purists but I've been doing this successfully for 10 years. please advise, Barry

got any specific gravities and temperatures? Which yeasts did you use?

Steve

106F is really pushing it.
Most yeasts like to rehydrate between 95-100, some maybe a little less.

Fill us in, recipe, and step by step what you did.

As Steve said, starting SG, etc.

Going to the mechanic and saying your truck wont run does nothing to help the diagnosis.

You are probably okay, and chances are we can help you get it going, but you need to tell us more.

Sometimes the yeast doesn't always go, this could be due to many factors.

Fill us in on what you did and we will do our bst to help you make it work.

Don't panic,

Yep, 106 is way to high even if they state it on the package. I dont rehydrate yeast as I believe it is a waste. I either sprinkle or make a starter. At that temp you have most likely cooked the yeast. Either that or you have added so much sugar that you have shocked the yeast to much with all that sugar. If you are wanting a high abv alc then split the sugar into two additions especially when working without a hydrometer as there is a fine line between pushing the yeast and over doing it with sugar. Im not criticizing you for noy using a hydrometer but wonder why you dont use one.

Yeah - i had that issue before - i tried to activate the yeast at too high a temp - it didn't :(