Xylitol

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tingo

Reaction score
Hi all. I have been making wine for about 8 years now and pride myself on my knowledge but i recently stumbled on an article talking about back sweetening with a sugar alcohol known as xylitol. Apparently yeast cannot metabolize it so no stabilizers are needed. Anyone have any insight or experience you can share with your ol buddy tingo?

I too would like to know more, a little research shows it about 8.00 a pound it is all natural.....I will keep digging

I'm looking for a solution to back-sweeten MLFd wine, just in case I have to offset the acidity a little. So far, the only sugars that do not ferment (therefore don't require sorbate to prevent fermentation) are Stevia and Xylitol. Maybe there are other options, but I wasn't able to find them.
Personally, I don't like the taste of Stevia, and Xylitol doesn't inspire me a whole lot either.
Does anyone know of other methods or non-fermenting sugars that could be used for this purpose? Maybe @Rice_Guy could elaborate on the subject...
Thanks.

Does anyone know of other methods or non-fermenting sugars that could be used for this purpose? Maybe @Rice_Guy could elaborate on the subject...
Thanks.
Sugar has a left and right 'handedness'. Both occur naturally but some company was still awarded a patent on it. I don't remember which is which but the one tastes the same as the other but we can't digest it. Probably the same thing for most yeast. Looks like we won't see it till after the patent expires though if it hasn't hit the market by now. That or it is just too expensive to produce. :(

I remember reading about L-sugars a while ago, in an article that said that they are extremely expensive to manufacture and there were no bacteria or enzyme that could produce them naturally.