RJ Spagnols WS Super Tuscan

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

m056432

Reaction score
Hi All,

I just started the Super Tuscan (based off of everyone's rave reviews) and I have a couple questions. To start, this is my 4th kit so I'm still learning and I followed the instructions without any modifications. The initial SG was 1.084 and went up 24 hr later after adding the skins to 1.100 (as expected), temp has been steady at 73F. I racked it to the carboy on day 7 at 1.010. It's now day 14 and I just checked the SG and it's .990 (and still some small sporadic bubbles) I'm def reading it right and I've checked the hygrometer's calibration in water. I thought I've read on other threads people fermenting dry in the high .99's. I'm curious if others have seen this low of a SG with the super tuscan since I still have 14 days to go, plus my hygrometer only goes to .990 (it may actually be closer to .899 but there's no lines to read lower than a .990)

My other question has to do with stabilizing. Each of my previous 3 kits were dry (and steady for a few days) before the instructions said. Do you guys wait until the specified day, in this case with the super tuscan, day 28, or go by the SG which in this case I would assume would be well before day 28. Are there any advantages/disadvantages to either method?

Sounds to me like its not only finished but starting to degas on its own a bit. I would go ahead a rack once more if you have gross lees still on, etc rack them off and then go ahead and degas properly, stabilize and fine. Also make sure you top it off with a similar or like wine to the neck of the carboy.